A Blog About...

A Blog About Being a Christian, a Wife and a U.S. Army Officer.
Showing posts with label change. Show all posts
Showing posts with label change. Show all posts

Sunday, April 13, 2014

Life: We're expecting our first child!

Alright, I know I have suspiciously absent from blogging for the last few months.  At first, it was just the business of having friends and family coming to visit and hitting the slopes during any down time we had, but then that reason changed.  On February 13th, Kevin and I found out that we are expecting our first child.We kept the news mostly to ourselves until week 8 and decided that after we told our family, we wouldn't put anything online until we reached our second trimester (when the risk of miscarriage is greatly reduced).

Baby's first rattle- From my mom
13 weeks
We have had our first ultrasound and our due date has been set for October 19th.  It is hard to believe that we will have a baby  before the holidays even hit.  (If you didn't know, Kevin and I had decided to stop preventing children at the new year and had thus expected to it take the average 3-6 months to get pregnant. Instead it took less than 45 days). Kevin declared it as a boy the first night we found out while I wasn't feeling either way.  I still really don't feel any one way, but when we first saw baby moving and playing on the ultrasound, I said, "Wow! Look at him." So we shall see.  Neither of us are really hoping one way to another, but I think it is fun to try to guess.  We have every intention of finding out the sex at our 20 week appointment.

Assorted books- from my mom
Book from Aunt Heather
The Army has been both frustrating and extremely helpful during this time.  I didn't have my first appointment until week 8 and that was just an intake appointment (no ultrasound, just some lab work and family history) and I had my first ultrasound in week 11.   The Army is pretty good about not doing an unnecessary testing (unlike a regular physician who can get away with charging insurance companies for extra ultrasounds that don't really have a purpose) which is both good and frustrating.  Naturally, I would have wanted to see baby much earlier, but at the same time, I appreciate the idea of not indulging everyone of my wants.  I have also been going to pregnancy physical training instead of my normal unit PT.  This includes one day a week of prenatal yoga, one day of pool PT, two days of either cardio or light weight training and one day of classes.  The classes are taught my nurses and midwives that cover a range of topics from how STDs can affect pregnancy and delivery to nutrition to delivery methods.  It really helps that instead of having a bunch of extra appointments during the day, most of our education occurs during our regular hours and I know that if I have a question, I will see a nurse that week (though with my step mom and best friend both being doctors, I normally just text one of them when I have a question).

Soft ducky- from my mom
For those wondering, and since I have already been asked, this doesn't change anything about me being in the Army.  I got pregnant with every intention of staying in.  Technically, my commitment is up next May, but I plan on staying in past that at this point.  Yes, I can get out of the Army now that I am pregnant but no, I am not planning to.  Even if I change my mind after baby's here, (which I know some of you may be hoping for) I will at least stay in until next May and fulfill the commitment I first made.  Kevin and I timed it this way so that we would almost be forced to try and make things work with us both working.  I am not the type of person to quit because something is tough, but I will quit if I decide this is something I don't want to do anymore.  If I am being perfectly honest, I cannot imagine that I won't want to be in the Army after baby is here.  I love my job and though I am
Baby's first piggy bank- from my mom
sure I could find success elsewhere, I appreciate the structure and responsibility that doesn't exist outside our military.  If I am not in the Army, I will probably be a stay at home mom, at least for a while.   So, the question will be "do I want to be at home with baby more than I want to be in the Army?"  At this point, Kevin and I are planning on me being in until 2017/18.  If plans change, they change.  If I go for twenty years, then awesome.  If I decided I am done after my four, then so be it.

Baby's first ducky- from my mom
As far as my first trimester of pregnancy, I started getting morning sickness at week five and by week six, I had already moved into nausea with vomiting.  I have experienced a few other symptoms too (congestion, nose bleeds, fatigue, cravings, food aversions and pretty much everything in between too) and that has changed some things around our house.  For instance, I haven't been cooking much and Kevin has had to do some of the grocery shopping.  But things are slowly returning back to normal.  In fact, yesterday we hiked 12 miles to the top of a mountain and back (about 4500 ft in elevation change).  I plan on continuing to hike, but I am not sure that we will be doing any more mountain climbing as I get bigger (mostly because of the risk of falling on the snow and ice that is still up around the 10,000 ft mark).  We cut our ski season short this year in part because of the risk of falling (not much for me), but more because the morning sickness pretty much killed any desire I had to get up early and be in a car for two and a half hours.  The only weird food things have been that for the first time in my life I don't want anything to do with vegetables (which I normally love) and have only really been able to do raw carrots and I haven't really wanted chocolate (super weird for me).  I have craved McDonald's (so weird!) and Chipotle (not surprising!).
Kevin and I hiking

Bible- from my mom

Kevin and I have only bought a couple of things for baby.  The first is a bag I intend to use as a diaper bag.  I bought it during a thirty-one benefit party for Caring-for-Carter.  I bought a bag called the city weekender (may look small in the pic but it is definitely a bag for an adult with enough room for a couple of changes of clothes, etc.).  I figured it was perfect since I didn't really need or want a new purse, and this is the type of thing I can use on weekend trips after baby doesn't need a diaper bag anymore.  The second item we bought is a play yard.  We decided to buy this early since our 8 month old niece will be staying with us in a couple of weeks and we didn't have any place for her to stay.  We pretty much went with the most expensive model because it packs compactly and will be perfect for our trips back to Illinois.  It has a removable bassinet with a stand, a changing table, storage under the changing table area, a raised bassinet and then the normal play pen for when baby gets bigger.  I sent my sister-in-law a picture to let her know we have a place for our niece to sleep and she told me that her and her husband were planning on getting us a pack in play as a gift so that they could use it during their visit!  I just had to laugh that we had the exact same idea, I was just faster at ordering.  Also bought were onesies to announce we were expecting to aunts and uncles, and some bottles, blankets, jammies and a toy to tell my mom.  But none of those things are here with me and I don't have pictures, sorry.


Baby's first onesie- from Michelle
We have also had a few people already starting to buy baby gifts.  My friend Michelle technically got the first baby gift (but she was also told early as I felt horribly guilty.  I am supposed to be a bridesmaid in her wedding on October 18th and baby is due the next day!)  Naturally, since we met in college, she bought baby's first Illini gear.  My mom came in second with a silver rattle, a duck toy (we are going pond themed for the nursery since it is gender neutral), and a piggy bank.  Since then, I only know of one toy that has been bought by my mom and a bunch of books.  My mom and sister have made it their mission to create baby's library.  

Monday, January 20, 2014

Life: Thoughts after a week on Paleo

Ok, so after one week on Paleo, I figured it's about time for an update.  To catch up those who aren't following, Kevin and I are trying to go Paleo for 30 days.  We have a Paleo guide/ cook book.  It has a 30 day meal plan for any dietary needs.  We picked the 30 day meal plan for digestive health.  We started on Sunday the 12th after we got back from Mexico.

After the first day, Kevin noticed more differences than I did.  But both of us felt a little bit better.  Honestly though, there haven't been too many significant changes (probably because these diet changes aren't too different from what we were already eating). My completion seems slightly better but I don't really feel any more energized.  I do however miss chocolate.

So, after a week, Kevin and I started discussing what changes would be permanent.  The reality for us is that paleo is pretty strict and not always conducive to our life style.  It's hard being out and about and still eating.  It is also difficult since on Tuesday nights our Small Group has dinner together and Wednesday nights we have dinner with our community group.  And since most people don't really read the ingredients list in their food (and you kind of sound like a tool when you  ask), this becomes challenging.  And we aren't really ready to be the people that bring food every where.  The other issue is that as much as I love cooking, I am not a fan of cooking 2-3 meals per day.  We are both in agreement that cereal makes mornings much easier.  And I am not a huge fan of no nights off from cooking.

I have also been having some stomach issues that makes me think I might be allergic to something in our new diet... I mean... lifestyle.  Most likely I think it is eggs but I am not sure. Time will tell, but something is making me feel nauseous after eating every now and again.

So for a more permanent solution, Kevin and I have decided that our best decision is probably going to be to go mostly paleo and continue in our regular pattern of slowly evolving our diet to eating better over time.  Once this 30 days is up, we are planning to allow organic cereal back into our mornings and to be more lenient in our "cheating" to the tune of about once a day, though trying not to make it a whole meal, just a portion. We are hoping that over time, just as it has already happened, foods that make us feel bad get omitted.  It's not that we don't think Paleo is a good choice, we just aren't in a place to fully commit.

But most importantly, we are planning on doing an allergy test and optimal nutrition evaluation.  We want to make sure we cut out any foods we are allergic to, and adding back things we are missing.  We think it is probably the best start to actually changing our diet to meet our health needs.

On another note, this is one of my new favorite desserts.
I call it...

Orange Dreamsicle Sorbet


Ingredients:
10 peaches (approx)
1/2 cup Orange Juice
1 teaspoon vanilla (shout out to +Jordan Wiley for the idea)
2 teaspoons of honey (optional)

Directions: Blend in a food processor (I use my nutri-bullet).  Freeze or eat immediately.  Approx 1 serving.  (Note: The goal with Paleo is to avoid processed and refined foods.  Try to stay as natural as possible with your ingredients if you are trying to maintain Paleo too!)